Do Something: Human Trafficking and The Bystander Effect

8359447073_6fb34236e1_b

Photographer Nannette Ricaforte on why she fights against human trafficking.

Her radiant smile is what I remember of my trip to the Philippines in 2009. It was my first trip back to my homeland after 41 years and the first time I met the girls residing at My Refuge House—a safe home providing restoration to victims rescued from sexual exploitation and slavery. Out of the six girls Mayla (name changed) was the only one who looked directly into my eyes while wearing a big smile on her face. I wondered why she was bolder than the rest of the girls who kept their gazes trained on the floor. After a few days I would learn why.

Mayla’s story: She was forced into manual…

(finishing reading story here).

Leave a Reply

