The Homeless are Human

Homeless-11

Nannette Ricaforte reminds us that “Homelessness might rob one of his dignities but humanity perseveres in all.”

I sat on the bench holding my heavy camera with sweaty palms watching my friend’s band perform at a homeless outreach in Fullerton, California. It was the Fourth of July and my friend invited me to take photos of her, her band, and the homeless who came to partake in what the outreach offered: warm food, entertainment, haircuts, showers, clothes, and friendship.

Was it providence or coincidence when the first person to strike up a conversation with me was Jim (name changed), a homeless man who was a photographer for 35 years? He approached me because he recognized the lens I was using.

“A red ring on that lens means you are serious about your photography.”

(continue reading story here)

Leave a Reply

