Our Journey Through Long Beach

Buffum

By: Derrick Engoy
Lead Planter

One of the first spiritual activities, of any world religion, to take a back seat when life gets busy is prayer. We, even as followers of Jesus, easily allow our communication with God to dwindle down to a two second prayer right before we head out to that big interview or when we experience those near death situations asking God for help…oh and those moments where we ask God to bless our food and the hands that prepared it. Pastors aren’t exempt from the busyness of life either. And, when the currents of busy life come flowing from all corners of the earth, the prayers of many pastors have a way of being limited to sermon prep time or blanket prayers over a Sunday service.

Yes, I’m guilty of such prayers too.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Prayers are prayers and they’re communicating with God nonetheless. But I realized something as our team prayed, yesterday, over the two possible sites for our Sunday home. There’s an infinite amount of joy when we seek God first, before seeking His mighty act of movement in our direction.

I admit. I am leaning toward one direction when it comes to the place to hold our Sunday services. Yet, at the same time, I’d be lying if I said the other location is totally out of the question. One spot makes absolute sense logistically and for the overall experience for our families. The other feels more in tuned with who I am.

Needless to say, I’m torn.

But that’s where seeking Him first comes in. As I’ve processed the day and the experience of praying with our team, I got the sense that The Lord doesn’t want me to dwell so much anymore on the specifics of the location. Rather, it’s important that I spend time with the Father, seeking Him. When I focus my attention on this place or that, I lose focus on God. I lose focus on His mission. I lose focus on His Kingdom. And, in many ways, I put limits on what God can do.

Jesus once said , “But seek first His Kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

When we seek the many things first, before God, our intentions are selfish. God provides and He has proven that countless number of times. Him eventually showing us where our Sunday home will be is no different.

So, join me in seeking God for the sole purpose of spending time Him.

No agenda.

No ulterior motives.

No trying to play nice so we get what we want.

Join me in simply resting in His presence.

Leave a Reply

